Marielle and Dan’s movie themed wedding cake!

Marielle, a long time friend of mine, approached my friend Jenn, from itsthebestofboth, and I a week before her wedding and asked us to make the ever intimidating WEDDING CAKE and wedding cupcakes. Here were a few thoughts that ran through my head:

  • I’ve never made a wedding cake before
  • I’m not ready for a wedding cake
  • I’ve never collaborated with a person to make a cake before
  • What if Jenn doesn’t like my ideas and vise versa
  • What about just cupcakes?!?!

But Marielle being such a good friend (pretty much a sister) to me growing up, there was no way I could say no. After a lot of trial and error, the cake actually came together nicely and fit so well with Marielle & Dan’s movie themed wedding. The event planner displayed the cake backwards so that the film strips aren’t hanging off the front of the cake but oh well, from afar it still looked pretty dang awesome! First wedding cake checked off the bucket list!

 

The cupcakes were also movie theme inspired! Caramel popcorn & Milk duds mmm… and on the right is the finished product in my very clean kitchen hahah.

IMG_0328

Congratulations Marielle & Dan Ma!

Check out this link for their wedding video for a cameo of the cake and cupcakes (oh and me crying hahaha)

http://vimeo.com/84512885

(unfortunately it’s not giving me the option to embed the video but click it anyway and enjoy!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes, Cupcakes

Leave a comment